A Day In Dinas

Wherever I go in the world and no matter how far I travel there will always be no place like home. I could be at the peak of an amazing mountain climb in New Zealand or relaxing on the beaches of California I will always end up back at Dinas Powys. This does not mean I do not want to explore and experience life in all corners of the globe but home will always be home.

Dinas is a small village in South Wales situated about 10 minutes down the road from the Welsh capital, Cardiff, and equally as close to Barry Island, made famous by BBC Three’s Gavin and Stacey.

Dinas encapsulates everything that village life is like in Wales – it gets its name from Dinas Powys Hillfort that dates back to the iron age showing that even the smallest of places can be full of heritage and history. Green pastures provide an unadulterated backdrop for life in the little village.

Growing up here enriches its population with a great sense of community – with only two primary schools everyone knows everyone. Like most Welsh villages, Dinas revolves around its sports teams and clubs and for me being a part of Dinas Powys Rugby Club was a massive part of my upbringing and still is a big part of my life.

Rugby club
Dinas Powys Rugby Club. Photo Credit: Liam Driscoll

The community feel is reinforced on weekends when the majority of the village descend on ‘the square’ and its trio of pubs: The Cross Keys, The Three Horse Shoes or The Star. Even pop star Charlotte Church has been known to make an appearance at the Horse Shoes karaoke! There has even been stories of her parties keeping the village awake until the early hours.

I have saved the show stopper for the end of my blog as it truly deserves the headline slot. As far as views go, Dinas offers one of the most breathtaking views I have seen. Taking a walk to the Quarry on a bright summers day is one of the reasons that I love living here. But don’t just take my word for it – check it out for yourself..

Dinas will always be my home and like a boomerang, wherever I go I will always come back.

Leave a Reply

